Dog Moments

IMG_2135Hello my beautiful people!

I know, it’s been a while. It’s been a crazy couple of months from graduating high school, to working early (I mean EARLY) mornings for cherry harvest. But I’m back now, and there’s some exciting posts coming up! I’m heading to Europe tomorrow and I’m so stoked! It’ll be my first time on another continent, and I’m so ecstatic to bring you along with me on this journey. So stay tuned for some exciting travel posts coming your way! I mean, because who doesn’t like travel posts?

So let’s get into this maybe cute, maybe funny post about (you’ve probably already guessed it based on the title and the picture) my precious dog, Barley.

Here’s the story:

When I was 10 years old, my sister and I came home from a week away with the grandparents. Tired from the past week’s hot summer sun, and the 2 1/2 hour drive, but also excited to see my parents because I got homesick very easily then, my sister and I trudged out of the car. But as soon as we stepped on our homeland, our eyes grew wider and huge smiles were plastered on our faces. It wasn’t just our parents that walked out our door to greet us, there was a small, wild, furry black with golden eyebrow spots friend as well. My sister and I galloped over to the puppy with glee, hugging and petting him. We probably scared the poor thing, not knowing who the heck we were.

The short-story behind his name:

My parents gave my sister and I the privilege to name him. The pound originally named him Barley after the soup. Yes, a soup. His brothers and sisters were named after soups as well. My sister and I agreed to keep that name, thinking that it fits him well. Our eyes glued to the adorable Australian-German-Shepard, my sister and I had no idea how much love and protection this dog would provide us in the coming years.

Over the past 8 years, Barley has added over amounts of joy, love, and happiness into our family. He’s so fun and lovable, so I thought I would share my top 3 favorite moments our family has had with Barley. IMG_3973 copyMOMENT #1:

When Barley was still a puppy, rambunctious as could be, all four of us were playing fetch with Barley in our yard. You know, just a casual throw the ball, dog runs to get it, brings it back, repeat. But to spice it up a little, someone threw the ball and Sophie (sister) chases after Barley up the hill. Barley charges back down the hill with the ball in his mouth not letting anything get in his way (literally). With Sophie in his way, he charges into her legs, completely flipping her. My parents and I were on the ground laughing our heads off. I was crying (a good cry). Sophie was okay and still living. It was hilarious, and it’s a memory I’ll never forget.IMG_3991 copyIMG_4009 copyMOMENT #2:

About a month or two ago, my grandma, Sophie, and I came home from Petco with a gigantic, I mean gigantic, bone. (See pic below!!!) We thought that Barley would love this bone that was bigger than his face, and would gobble it right up.

Well, no.

When Barley first received the bone, he was giddy as could be. We were giggling about how big it was and took a few pictures. We went inside to go on with our day, and thinking that Barley would want his privacy with his new, tasty friend.

About 10 minutes later, I glanced out the kitchen window, particularly looking for Barley and his bone. All I could find was Barley, but not his bone. So I went outside to look for it and it was nowhere to be found! Barley immediately buried this gigantic bone when we were caught off-guard. We thought it was hilarious how Barley would go bury the bone instead of eating it. I guess that’s what dogs do, right? He’s saving it for a rainy day.IMG_1979MOMENT #3:

When I’m going out for a photoshoot around the orchard I live by, I love to take Barley with me because he loves adventuring just as much as I do. He’s my adventure buddy. He roams around, sniffing up the mysterious smells of the world while I’m snapping away. But there’s never at least one picture that Barley isn’t in. Let’s just say Barley likes to model and he’d probably would take that up as a career. I’m not gonna lie, it can be quite annoying when I’m going for a certain aesthetic in the shoot and Barley jumps in. But he also can take my creativity to the next level when I’m shooting, allowing me to explore how I can include him and the model creatively in the shot to tell the right story. So I thank him for that. IMG_4001 copyIf you’re looking to adopt a cute, furry animal, go check out PuppySpot! PuppySpot is a service where they help breeders find happy and caring homes for their puppies. Here’s the German Shepard  Breed 101 card for my dog in case you’re interested:

Puppyspot_germanI want to hear about your moments with your dog, please tell me with a comment down below! 🙂 I hope you have a lovely day and stay positive.

xo-

Autumn

 

 

Leave a Reply

